Tuhmayto, tuhmahto & an abundance of basil

I know you think I’ve turned into a tomato by now. I haven’t.

I haven’t really even ventured out to the garden more than once a week lately. There is some intensive work waiting out there and it’s a little overwhelming to consider.

It’s kind of embarrassing actually. It appears that our sweet garden has a fungus. Not all of it. Don’t freak out. But there is something called “bottom rot” happening on a lot of the tomatoes. You see this gorgeous red fruit and go to pick it and half of it is rotting and moldy. It’s like our garden got an STD or something.

To fix it, we need to get out there and strip every yellow and dead leaf off the plants and pick all the bad fruit.

This is where the 40-whatever tomato plants becomes laughable. The peppers look awesome, but I’m afraid the tomatoes are a near lost cause.

I think we should just leaving farming to the professionals.

Fortunately, Bri and I have been getting veggies from Delvin Farms CSA all summer too. Last weekend in the share, we received what looked like an entire basil BUSH so my friend Julie gave me her pesto recipe and I got to work. I pulled leaves off the stalks to wash, and woke this little guy up from his nap. oops! This is why I ignore the “God made dirt and dirt don’t hurt” chant in my head. I don’t want any weirdness in my pesto.

What it took for me to make the pesto was only a small fraction of what we have, so my project today is to make and freeze it. Bri tasted the pesto when he got home from volleyball the other night and said it was the BEST pesto he’d EVER had. I think he was just flirting with me, but I’ll take it.

Here’s the recipe if you’re interested:

3 cups basil leaves, washed for obvious reasons.
3 T pine nuts
1 1/2 tsp salt
1/2 c olive oil
3 garlic cloves, crushed, smashed or otherwise destroyed
1/2 c parmesean (or, parm-pecorino if you prefer. which, I do)

Put basil, nuts, & salt in food processor. Process steadily while you add oil (or, add oil and process, because if I took the top off, I would have had a green kitchen).

Add garlic & process just to mix. (Or keep mixing and process it for all its worth. that’s what I did).

Transfer to bowl & fold in grated cheese. (I used shredded parm cheese and made it dizzy with the reversing chop & grind features on my mini food processor. Why dirty another bowl?)


One of our favorite ways to enjoy pesto is in combination with sun dried tomatoes and feta cheese on top of grilled chicken. We have 2 other variations of that that we do too, both include slicing the chicken and putting all ingredients either on a homemade pizza, or in a pot of angel hair pasta and mix up and eat. Easy easy meals.

How do you like to cook with or eat pesto?

~ by hthr on September 2, 2010.

5 Responses to “Tuhmayto, tuhmahto & an abundance of basil”

  1. I’ll be interested to know how well it freezes?

  2. We’re doing Delvin Farms too! Have you tried bruschetta with the basil and fresh tomatoes? Amazing! The pesto recipe looks great. I need to give it a try.

  3. This sounds wonderful! I like pesto, but don’t have more than a couple recipes using it. Ziti with pesto, whole pine nuts and grilled shrimp is good. I’ll try your chicken with pesto too. Yum!

  4. Bow-tie pasta, grilled chicken, sundried tomatoes, pesto, and chopped black olives. Yum!

  5. An AWESOME appetizer that I’ve people go “nuts” for is this”

    1 baguette cut into diagonal slices about 1/2 inch thick. Toast the baguette slices in the oven for about 10 minutes or until slightly brown and crispy – pull them out and let cool for 2 or 3 minutes – top with a spread of cream cheese and a dollop of Pesto – Amazing!

Leave a Reply

