back from the beach

We spent a week at the beach with our wonderful friends the Tremblay’s out in Gulf Shores, Alabama last week.

I’m not sure what to tell you about it.

We sat in chairs at the shore. We ate. We laughed. We watched our kids get pummeled by waves. We cooled off in the pool and went back to the beach. We took naps and played games and watched from our balcony as the waves rolled in. Who knew they were so beautiful at night? It was unscheduled and unstructured and juuuuust riiiiight.

I brought 3 books and 1 magazine and I read less than half the magazine. It’s pretty hard to stop watching the waves when they’re crashing at your feet. How do they do that? How do they just stop so gently when they roar the whole way over? And the foam it leaves behind as it recedes? Ohhh man, it’s gorgeous.

I need a macro lens. I neeeeed a macro lens!

We learned this week that it is illegal to swim when a double red flag is posted. This really messed with my child who can not bear to break a rule and was keeping an eye out for beach police. Seriously. She wanted to know why the people swimming weren’t being hauled off.


You can’t go to the beach without making a sand castle. Jay, Brian and I worked on this one for a couple hours. The little munchkins kind of abandoned us, but we could not leave it unfinished! That algae wall there is a natural mountain landscape, ie: We are hungry. Let’s wrap this thing up. Use your imagination!


We went to some kind of amusement-park-mini-golf place one night after dinner… one minute I’m standing around waiting for B to buy some tickets. Next thing I know, my kids are looking at this SkyCoaster thing that I’d say literally touches. the sky. and Brian is behind me a few steps saying, “Wanna do it? I’ll buy the tickets!”

Now I knew he wasn’t talkin to me, but surely he wasn’t talkin to our BABIES. Nuh.uh.

*ahem*  Apparently HE WAS.

They would be the red dot to the right of the center pole in the pic above. No really, it’s them. It is.

Swinging on the swingset will forever be lame after this moment in time.

Our time at the beach was a great way to disconnect and reconnect and get quiet and just be. I don’t think I’ve ever enjoyed watching and listening to the waves as much as I did then. They just kept rolling in… big and loud and continuous. It never got old.

It took B quite a few days to really start to relax. Like, five, but he said it was some of the best quality time he’d had with the girls which is nothing short of priceless. Kind of makes me wonder even just a little bit, if there’s some kind of bonding endorphin that is shared on that skycoaster deal.

~ by hthr on July 26, 2010.

5 Responses to “back from the beach”

  1. Those are great pictures! We aren’t going to any beach this year and I’m feeling full of regret. It looks and sounds like you had a beautiful time.

    • Renee, the beach will always be there for you! Have you been to Gulf Shores before? It was seriously one of the most (if not THE most) family friendly places I’ve been. Loved it.

  2. GLAD you had such a great and relaxing time! I absolutely love the water.

  3. My only regret is not being able to record the entire conversation that went on during the skycoaster. From the “uh uh, no, seriously…” as we went up to the flat “no” Taylor gave me when I explained she had to let go with one arm to pull the release to little Avery saying “OK, I really think I’m going to be sick” after the initial shock wore off.

    After all of that, they got off the swing beaming that they survived and conquered the sky swing of death… and I couldn’t have been more proud of them.

  4. Love your description of the waves…wishing I had paid more attention when I was at the beach. When do we get to be friends? I’ll swap you some squash for tomatoes…oh wait, you probably have some of that too.

Leave a Reply

