Go’in on a trip in my favorite rocketship

Something happens to me when I lose my wifi at home. I can’t explain it, but it is angering, and today especially as I was working from home in an attempt to avoid any[more] mishaps my kids might fall into while I tried to get some work done. *ahem*

Sadly, today I not only lost a wifi signal, but I nearly lost my mind, as I have what is affectionately known as “pre-menstrual syndrome”…

what? we’re all friends here

… the combination of which is enough to make my husband reply, “okay, I am on my way home right now to fix it” when called. “It” being the wifi, of course. Nothing fixes PMS.

Thanks Adam.

My kids behaved fantastically today which was a very gracious gift, all things considered, however they did not pick up the hundreds of little beads they pushed into the carpet. You know, the half inch long shag-like coffee-colored…

Hmm. I partially retract that statement, they DID pick up some, but then Tay popped the ziploc bag under her knee and the whole bottom blew out, along with a few hundred beads blowing a trail of rainbow colored glory behind. And even that wasn’t so bad, until instead of picking them up (again) they took fistfulls and threw them at each other.

And that is when I silently retreated to the laundry room, grabbed the vacuum and sucked every last one of those beads up out of my carpet while the girls stared on. Sorry Charlies.

at least I didn’t yell at them” I told B when he got home. As I sat on the couch, he got down on his knees leaned forward and gave me his sympathetic, undivided attention for 40 minutes. By far, the greatest [and only] gift since…  my birthday last month.

So I guess I don’t have to tell you I’m ready to get away for a few days. Oh, right, but the kids are coming with us. And their beads. Oi.

I’ve been packing for the fam today and since I only see a suitcase with my clothes in it once a year or so, maybe you can help me finish my list of stuff to bring?

Top 10 things to bring to the beach? Are there actually even 10? I doubt it.

10. shades
9. swimsuit & towel. And regular clothes too I guess.
8. sunscreen (Yes, I actually wear it now. Started last month.)
7. friends
6. books & mags
5. laptop, so I can work of course err, uhh, down & upload pics from my camera.
4. camera. duh.
3. tomatoes.
2.
1.

You can finish the list for me. I’ve considered giving up blogging regardless of the fact that I just bought an entire website devoted to myself, my stories and, as my dad once put it, “my feeeeelings about things”. But if y’all don’t start commenting, then, I don’t know … I was thinking I could get all vintagy and journal my life, like, with a pen and paper.

But that would give me a cramp in my hand.

So please just drop on down an inch or whatever and talk to me here on the blog. I’d hate to not hear from you when I know you love to talk as much as I do.

MmmHmm. Yes you do.

~ by hthr on July 13, 2010.

14 Responses to “Go’in on a trip in my favorite rocketship”

  1. What a great post! I love it when other people make me feel normal. 🙂 What else to bring to the beach? Lucky Charms. The only time my kids (and MYSELF) eat sugary cereal is at the beach…and we look forward to it all year!

    • love that Mindy…we wage a battle around here over sugary cereal and the idea of it being a vacation treat is absolutely perfect.

      My half-brother lives in Europe and does not have sugary cereal available there…just a few choices compared to our hundred! One year I sent my niece 6 or so boxes of the good stuff with marshmallows for Christmas. They are coming to the US for vacation soon…I bet they’ll be eating Lucky Charms too!

  2. Additional things to bring with you – BOTTLED WATER – It’s a life saver here in Phoenix :). And flip flops. and Aloe Vera lotion. (Just in case, cause when you don’t have it, you’ll definitely need it!)

    You have a gifted way with words, and a wonderful outtake on life, Heather – and it is much fun to read :). I hope it continues.

    Kristi Mitchell

  3. Hi,
    I hope you don’t mind me leaving you a comment. I noticed you have a heart for Him and are a follower of Katie Davis’ blog. I’m a 26 year old woman from England who has been called of God to become a Mama to many Ugandan children. I move to Uganda in January of next year and will be taking in children & loving them, just like Katie. I wondered if you might perhaps be interested in my blog. The link is:
    http://www.icarryyouinme.wordpress.com
    If you aren’t, please just ignore this message.
    Have a lovely day!
    Gabi

  4. Enjoying your blog Heather…don’t stop. Although I highly recommend journaling. There’s nothing like a good journal to document your highs and lows and God’s faithfulness through it all.

  5. I believe the loose translation in Genesis goes a little something like this,

    “Well, since you went ahead and took a bite, I might as well too.” -Adam 😉

    Oh sorry, this was about the list, wasn’t it?
    2. a playlist for the car trip
    1. power cords (phone, camera, laptop, etc.)

    (and as a bonus) board games for when the sun goes down.

    • not sure about that quote, but we have bigger things to fight about. like the calendar in the shred box. be ready for 8 hours in the front seat with muah. xoxo

  6. Oh Heather! I would love to comment every time you wrote something, but then, it wouldn’t be “your blog”…you would see this avid follower all over it and you would wonder what is wrong with her! Please, don’t quit your blog! I will repeat…you write so great!!! I think you need to write books…long stories, not just these glimpses into your life on the blog. Go enjoy your break at the beach…and blog about it! 🙂 Hugs to you my friend.

  7. Hi, Heather – Brand new reader. You are, in fact, my very first blog. My friend, Kristi, turned me on to this, and am I glad she did! I love what you said about (in)security and (un)belief. I hadn’t thought of it in terms of sin before, but now that you bring it up . . . Adonai speaks to us in so many ways!

    Don’t have a computer at home, so I can’t say how often I’ll return, but I will look forward to the next time.

    PS: About the garden – I am growing one myself after many decades of not. SO exciting to see the plants actually stretching Heaven-ward! My watermelons have blooms on them – 7 I counted last night – and am excited awaiting the same on my peppers and tomatoes. God bless you, Miss Heather! Keep up the good (HIS) work!!

  8. Lip balm and a hat!

    I love your blog, but hardly ever comment on anyones blog anymore! I am reading though and enjoy your stories and pictures. I started my blog as a thought and interest journal more than anything and now it’s just filled with whatever I can post in 10 minutes! I love exploring other blogs much more than posting on mine!!!

    • ooh! YES! I need a hat for SURE! And you have reminded me that with over 400 blogs in my reader, I rarely comment either. uhoh.

  9. 2. John
    1. Carrie

    Done! When do we leave? 🙂 Love reading your stuff, and we miss you guys! Let’s hook up when ya’ll get back (it’s official, I’ve lived in TN toooooo long, as I just typed “ya’ll”).

    • we miss y’all too. i’ll text ya to make dinner plans. we can talk some more about a trip to the mountains next year?!

  10. big blanket/sheet to spread out on the sand, tunes, buckets/shovels, floats, aloe ?? 🙂 Hope that you have a blast wherever you go! I love the silent peeks into your life even if I don’t say anything. Miss seeing you in person!

Leave a Reply

