HiHo

There has been an ebb and flow of my patience the past couple years in waiting and wondering what the Lord has in store for me beyond my role as a homemaker. What I can do. How I can serve. Where? Who? How? and WHEN?! I know His timing is always perfect, I just sometimes wonder while in wait mode, what “perfect” looks like – to Him.

Apparently, the time is now.

A little less than a year ago, a friend asked me if I might consider going back to work.

In my mind, I knew I wanted to. I wanted to be able to interact with people rather than sit home by myself many days. I know some of you think that sounds heavenly, but I assure you after two years of it, that’s only partially true. I have been very grateful to be at home. But after some time and resettling, I knew I wanted to contribute to something and have a sense of accomplishment outside the home.

I wasn’t sure what that looked like exactly at first, but with a bit of time and a lot of consideration, I did manage to put my thumb on a very specific thing… If I could work at the kids school, that would be my best case scenario. We’d have similar time off…holidays and snow days. I’d be around them and know their friends and their families… it’s an upbeat, positive and Godly environment, which is  as needed as oxygen to my lungs… Yep. The kids school. That would be my dream come true.

Well I know you know God is in the business of placing those dreams in us as well as fulfilling them, because this week I was given a job there. A place I love, working with people I respect and love and appreciate, doing something I both enjoy and find challenging.

Do I even need to state how excited I am? How blessed I feel?

I’m going back to work!

Avery calls me the “newsletter lady” and I’ll also continue working with the yearbook and doing marketing as needed.

The sweetest moment for me though was the way the girls faces lit up when I told them and they both plowed into me with big ole hugs. Long ones. With big smiles. It’s still a little surreal.

My Heavenly Father is very, very specific.
With time.
With detail.

And with that fresh reminder, I can drop some heavy baggage at His feet before I crawl between the sheets tonight knowing He’s got those down.

I don’t have to.

He’s got the whole world in His hands. And He’s got me.

~ by hthr on June 25, 2010.

12 Responses to “HiHo”

  1. Heather! So proud for you! Steve

  2. I so totally love this and always tell Maurice how much I’d enjoy work at our kids’ school someday! Perfect is so right. You know, my mom switched from being a stay at home mom this way…she has a big ole PhD now. I’m just sayin. (and, yes, I’m so proud of her)

  3. Congrats! Very happy for you. 🙂 God IS great!

  4. Awesome! What a blessing. I am sure you’ll love it!

  5. Awesome Heather!!! Congratulations….:)
    Love you woman!

  6. happy for you heather! congrats girl!

  7. I’m so happy for you!

  8. I’m so thrilled for you! What an incredible opportunity 🙂 Can’t wait to hear more about it – hopefully tomorrow!! 🙂

  9. Congrats! I bet you’re going to love working there. Drew comes home with all kinds of hilarious stories from the kids he teaches, so I just know you’re going to experience the same thing. You should share the really funny stories on your blog!

  10. […] It is a direct answer to prayer that I can be there specifically and part time and … well, I told you all that before. It’s just a tremendous blessing and there’s no place I’d rather […]

  11. […] on it before I freeze on everything. I felt embarrassed that, declaring how good God is to know just the perfect job for me, and then … leave it. Who does that? But I felt it impressed on my heart, and then a friend […]

  12. […] on it before I freeze on everything. I felt embarrassed that, declaring how good God is to know just the perfect job for me, and then … leave it. Who does that? But I felt it impressed on my heart, and then a friend […]

Leave a Reply

