More than words.

Different classes host chapel from week to week at GCA. Avery had been asking me to come to their last one this past Wednesday, which they were hosting, and so I thought I should, as she asked me more than once, indicating, I better.  They all came in, lined up and sitting on the front row. The sweetest crew of little faces … graciously, still looking little.

Their teacher, Mrs. Kirby, was giving a year end wrap up of things that individual children in her 1st grade class had learned this year. It was really interesting and sweet, and flowed really well as it was personal and different for each of them.

Avery shared about asking Jesus into her heart and what she thinks worship is about:

My little girl, who sings with all her might and feels it in her bones, knows it’s more than words. I sat there in awe of it all, because I don’t think I really really got that until about 8 years ago when I was pregnant with her. Listening to her say it in chapel, I had one of those moments of awe mixed with relief that she wouldn’t wait 20+ years, like me, to get it even just a little bit.

One of the boys in class chose the closing song, his favorite, “Revelation Song”.

I had my eyes closed for a few moments as we sang, and as I opened them to look down at Taylor who, in a rare moment was holding my hand, my eye caught something in the front row. It was a microsecond of frustration because I can be so ADD, and the last thing I wanted was to be was distracted in a time of worship as we sang…

Holy, Holy, Holy
Is the Lord God Almighty
Who was, and is, and is to come
With all creation I sing:
Praise to the King of Kings!
You are my everything,
And I will adore You!

What my eye caught was something I will treasure in my heart always. It started at the top, with fingers and as I followed down the arms of this child whose back was to me, my eyes landed on Avery, with both of her hands lifted to heaven in worship as she sang the lyrics above. I was in the middle of singing a word when I literally lost the ability to finish it, and then some. Tears rolled off my face as my heart had found another beautiful reason to give thanks. And then some more of that too.

~ by hthr on May 16, 2010.

One Response to “More than words.”

  1. WOW! I love this too! What incredibly sweet moments and girls you have!

Leave a Reply

