Oh me, of little faith

When will I ever learn?

I’m so ashamed that I doubted. Our garden survived.

What what?! Our GARDEN. SURVIVED.

We prayed for protection over our garden last Thursday night as we finished planting it, and when the rain started Friday night and continued on for the next 2 days, we didn’t STOP praying for that, but you’d think all that water would just do away with whatever was in its path. Because sadly, there was a lot of destruction.

I was nearly speechless when Patti told me it made it. From what I’ve heard, there was a river of water raging over the gardens, which are less than 100 yards from the banks of the Harpeth River. It was flooded over for 2 days.

The plant leaves are covered in silt, evidence of where the water had been. I need to go give them a little sponge bath. You can see how the dirt is cut away right next to this tomato plant from where it was draining back down towards the river, and then in the other, the smooth glassy texture of the dirt.

I’m humbled at how the Lord cares for me. These leaves are in tact! Look at them! Even the small things, aren’t really small at all. To those who have been given much, much will be required.

~ by hthr on May 6, 2010.

2 Responses to “Oh me, of little faith”

  1. I’m so happy for you! We only had a little flooding in our crawl space, but nothing major at all. I was thinking about you this morning actually, and hoping everything was OK after this crazy weekend! I’m glad to hear all is well, even down to your lovely garden.

  2. This is soooo awesome. Kristi was telling me about this earlier, how your garden survived. GOD is so AWESOME and wonderful. Glad you are ok, Franks family all made it through ok too. Sad to hear about people who are gonna be out of work bc of the floor though.

Leave a Reply

