New adventures await

If you’ve been reading here for any length of time you know I have two black thumbs when it comes to growing much of anything other than children, blood pressure, and the volume of my radio. So when my friend Patti asked me if I wanted to share a garden with her at church, I laughed out loud, “You don’t want me!” She claimed her thumbs were no greener than mine, so we shrugged our shoulders, smiled and said, “Okay! Let’s do it!”

And there ya have it. We found ourselves set on a mission to gardendom ~not that we know much about it~ but thank God for friends who do, the white plastic tags which sorta kinda have instructions, and Google. Viva la google.

We shopped this week for vegetable plants, gloves and … Miracle Grow ~ for obvious reasons.

In addition to 5 or 6 different kinds of tomatoes, we have planted green, red, yellow & chocolate bell peppers, cilantro, cucumbers, green beans, Georgia sweet onions, and red cabbage.

I haven’t gotten a final count on what made it into the ground, but I think there were close to 40 tomato plants plus all the rest. I had assumed in all my gardening ignorance innocence that a plant might put out 10-15 tomatoes and be done. Apparently not. Our friend Dave O told Brian we could potentially expect about 50 off a plant. So…we may have around 2000 tomatoes this summer?! Is that even possible?

Here’s Ave planting a tomato plant.

I am very excited … I have never had a garden before, much stepped foot in anyone elses! This is alllll new territory here. I’m looking forward to taking the girls out there this summer and weeding it and taking care of it and for them to get to see how food grows and where it comes from! Not just magically off the Costco and Publix shelves! Maybe I’ll even get them to eat some new veggies because of it!

Best of all, as we finished up planting the other night, we prayed over it with the kids.

So today, I’m thankful for the rain. For a new reason… to help our garden grow!

[edited to add, 2pm … Wow, this is really a LOT of rain today…I hope the garden will be okay!]

[edited to add, 4pm … Patti just texted me that flood water is creeping up near the garden plots.]

[edited to add, 7pm … the area around church is flooded. I’m not feeling extra optimistic about this. If nothing else, it will be like the yearbook file that disappeared. Consider the first round “practice”. We’ll see….]

[edited to add, 10pm … when I tucked Avery into bed tonight, I prayed with her and then got up to walk away. She called out, “Hey mom! Why didn’t you pray for our garden?!” So of course, I went back and we did.]

[edited to add, Sunday 3pm … Well, we’ve had over 12″ of rain in the past 24 hours. I’m assuming its probably floated away with all the rain and flooding. Sad. I just knew those green beans were really gonna be tasty. I’m anxious to get over there and check it all out when the storms clear and water recedes.]

~ by hthr on May 2, 2010.

3 Responses to “New adventures await”

  1. Awww MAN! My hubby planted his first garden this year too and it has been a lot of fun watering it and watching the veggies grow. I hope yours survived! :/ Glad Y’ALL are still dry… the pictures of Franklin and Bellevue are insane!

  2. […] day, another basket o’ blessings with stems on Two months ago, we ventured out on an adventure in gardening. We watched and watered and had faith that someday the plants that then had only a few leaves each, […]

  3. […] months ago, we ventured out on an adventure in gardening. We watched and watered and had faith that someday the plants that then had only a few leaves each, […]

Leave a Reply

