For cryin out loud

I taught my girls a while back that, should they be scared or worried, that they could always just call out to Jesus.

“Call out to Jesus?” they asked?

“Yeah! Just call Him, ya know? He always hears you, and so when you call on His Name, He’ll just come running to you. He promises that in the Bible!”

So it shouldn’t have surprised me, although it did, when some weeks later, while I sat in bed reading, I heard a little voice yelling something out. It totally startled me. Oh no! is she crying & sick? ((silence))

Again. Identical words. This time I heard and understood them. “Jesus! Je-SUS!…”

And then it was silent again, and my eyes welled up with tears as I realized what had just happened and she went back to sleep. There is so much power in the very NAME of Jesus… when I am scared, when I can’t put words to my hurt… when I am confused, or blessed and seeing answers to prayer and just blown away by His goodness… I call out on His Name then too and peace washes over me.

**

makes me think of the Gateway Worship song, “When I Speak Your Name”

Jesus, the most beautiful name of all names
Jesus, the only name that brings healing and strength
When I speak Your Name, mountains move, chains are loosed
When I speak Your Name, darkness flees, it has no hold on me

CHORUS
Jesus, the most beautiful name that I know
You’re the exalted One
Jesus, You have the power alone
You lift the lonely one, Jesus

VERSE 2
Jesus, the most wonderful name of all names
Jesus, the only name that brings freedom and hope
When I speak Your Name, mountains move, chains are loosed
When I speak Your Name, darkness flees, it has no hold on me

~ by hthr on March 29, 2010.

Leave a Reply

