WFMW: Getting breakfast down the hatch

It’s no secret that breakfast at our house can be the most challenging part of our day. And it’s not just because it happens before my 3rd cup of coffee.

I have literally burst into tears over the frustration of it all. I’m not that sensitive…it just can be that frustrating.

My girls sometimes stare down their beige-blah-oatmeal in a big white bowl until I finally cave and tell them to rush upstairs and brush their teeth & get dressed for school.

But, I think we’re on to something here… giving them the same size serving of oatmeal that appears “impossible” to eat, now in a fun little bowl. I think it looks like a lot less than what they are used to, even though it’s just mounded up high instead of wide. But when I checked their bowls after dropping them off at school? Empty.

Empty! WooHoo!!!

Presentation is important to me, which is a whole post all its own … I don’t know why it never occurred to me that their morning oatmeal looked so dreadful in those white bowls! I think it did occur to me, I just wasn’t caffeinated enough to remember it for the next time. or the next time. or the next time…

Whatever it takes to give them a good start to the day … fun little bowls with food piled high apparently works for them so it works for me too! It was gone in 3 minutes this morning rather than 30! WIN!

I guess this is the reason Elmo, Dora and all the little furry characters are on the bottom of the bowl? I’m catching on. Only 5 years too late, but I’m catching on.

~ by hthr on March 10, 2010.

3 Responses to “WFMW: Getting breakfast down the hatch”

  1. It’s amazing how much of a difference presentation can make to kids, isn’t it?!

  2. LOL I’ll have to remember this one. It must be why my kids are always fighting over the “snowman” bowl!

  3. What a great and simple idea! Sometimes I put sprinkles on their malt-o-meal, too. Just a few makes it more interesting…and therefore more appetizing.

Leave a Reply

