Welcome Spring! [as in, please stay!]

Well, the Christmas trees are down, for the most part anyway, which means one thing! Picnic season!!

After being sick for 10 days, we had an awesome long weekend enjoying the promising coming spring weather! Ohhhh, how I’ve been waiting to sit outside and feel the sun on my face without a winter coat on my back!

We are absolutely in love with the town we live in so when Brian asked me what I wanted to do on Saturday, I was quick to say, “Go walk around downtown!” We wandered in and out of many little shoppes keeping our eye out for inspiration for our bedroom makeover project, ended up at Pucketts for lunch, our fav new spot Sweet CeCe’s for fro-yo and Starbucks for coffee! Ha! My kind of day.

Sunday afternoon we set up our new badminton set and had a blast playing with the kids in the yard. Those kinds of days could last a lot longer if I had my say! I’m looking forward to the time change this coming weekend so we can still be playing out there when Bri gets home.

I’m fully immersed in working on the yearbook for the kids school. I’m very excited about it and just pray that it will be a beautiful & meaningful book of memories for the kids, parents & staff.

It wasn’t coming together the way I had hoped and envisioned and it all just hit me one night and I began having a panic attack over it of all things. I’m so grateful Brian was right there and laid hands on me and prayed over me. It all just fell away and I haven’t felt stressed about it since. God is so good, and my love and appreciation for my husband is developing in awesome new ways.

I had a sweet sweet day with the kids Monday as they were off school. We had a little TobyMac dance party goin on in the backyard while my neighbor and her little girl came over and we had tea and played badminton with the kids.

Taylor was made aware of a ministry our church has called “Room in the Inn” where a group of men from the local mission come and spend the night and are fed and ministered to. She wanted to help with that, but is not able to yet, so she asked one of the leaders if she could bake cookies for them. They thought that would be just great so we brought the dance party into the kitchen and got to work together making cookies.

It took a while, but it was probably one of my most favorite one-on-one times with her. At one point while she was measuring out flour, she shrugged up her shoulders and said, “I’m just so excited that I get to serve the men this way!” She has a quiet introverted way most of the time, but the most beautiful heart. I was in tears that morning as I walked toward my bedroom to get ready for the day and I overheard her singing about heaven. Just a song from her heart to the Lord about how she wonders about it and how we’ll get there, and saying just how wonderful it will be.

I want to be more like her.

~ by hthr on March 9, 2010.

2 Responses to “Welcome Spring! [as in, please stay!]”

  1. I just started reading your blog and it’s so beautiful and funny! I’m so touched that your husband stopped to pray for you during your freak out moment. Wonderfullness.

  2. L-o-v-e reading your posts. This picture of you two is beautiful. What a special relationship you have. Love your family, and so thankful for you! Be blessed today.

Leave a Reply

