An open letter to my family

Dear Wlms Family,

I know you have been concerned about the rate at which your dirty laundry is returned to you in clean ready-to-wear fashion. Please know that I have heard your concern and allowed it to fall on semi-deaf ears.

Case in point: the socks found this morning on the laundry room floor.

Yes, those are socks. I do not know where they end or where they begin, but I vaguely recognize the inside out pattern and can assume the reverse side is embroidered hearts because we have just passed Valentines Day.

If I didn’t mind spending a hefty portion of our clothing budget on socks each month, I would throw them in the garbage out of sheer frustration for the time it will take me to unroll these and 50 other inside-out, ball-resembling shapes on my laundry room floor. I know what you’re thinking, and yes, I have done that on many bad days. Yes, your socks have actually disappeared just as you have wondered out loud.

No, the dryer doesn’t eat them. The garbage can does. I feed it occasionally.

I know this is my “job” and I should find joy in it because someday I may “miss it” but I am a little hung up on this specific part of that right now. Please forgive me and we’ll both try and do better, okay?

Love,
me

~ by hthr on February 18, 2010.

3 Responses to “An open letter to my family”

  1. Grrr, I’m right there with you.

  2. Being the “laundry person” in our family, I’ve adopted the same strategy my mother employed: it goes into the washer in the exact state it was left in the laundry basket. This was mostly used for teaching us to clear out our pockets, but it could have some benefit here too. Socks that are balled up end up sorta clean and mostly wet after a trip through the washer/dryer in that state.

    Granted, it’s probably a passive/aggressive outlet for my frustration, but it’s cheaper than the trash can alternative.

  3. Heather, just catching up on your blog. The last three feel like you are writing about me. We are so alike. I admire your dedication to limiting the distractions in your life so you can focus on getting the answers you need. I aspire to do that, make steps to do it…only to find myself running toward the distractions at an OCD rate. I’m going to keep my eye on your blog. Hopefully I can regather myself as I watch you doing what I know its high time for me to do myself. Someday…

Leave a Reply

