[5:365)

Ahh, life is full of surprises, isn’t it? That would be Brian’ jeep being towed tonight.

He was on his way to get the girls from after-school-care while I was in counselor training. I had texted him earlier to say, don’t be late to get the girls!

So, when he texted at 15 til saying “call me.” I was concerned. I guess it’s just built into husbands and wives to know something is up because he was actually stranded in the middle of the road and his car was absolutely dead. As in, “Time of Death, 5:45pm” dead.

Graciously, our friend Paul help B push the car aside and brought him home and Diana picked the girls up from school. We towed the car, and honestly? I was really emotional. Are you shocked? I know. It’s not really even a big deal, except that this week we both actually need a car, and the girls are in after school care so I can do this, and -wow- isn’t the timing just ridiculous?! This would be a non-issue any other week. But not this week.

So Brian comes in the house and I’m standing against the wall crying, and he sits down on the couch and pats it and tell me to please have a seat and talk to him. And I’m all, “No! I’M the counselor, remember?!” I was shouting at him and we laughed so hard. Oh, it was good. It was good.

Thankfully, a friend who is out of town was glad for me to use her car for a couple days, so it is all set for me for morning.

So I’ve got 4 tires for sale. Less than 1,000 miles on them. And a car for parts, I think. We’ll have it checked out just in case before Bri’s team attempts to take him up on his offer to blow it up in one of their films.

Thank you Lord for great friends. And thank you that this isn’t a crisis. Just a really, really big inconvenience.

~ by hthr on January 13, 2010.

Leave a Reply

