[3:365]

So…yesterday I was all rah! rah! organic eggs, rah! And this morning I had cereal for breakfast.

I was making lunches for the kids when I peeked over Brian’s shoulder as he was frying up some eggs for us and I saw a brown spot on one. “Is that a chicken egg?!?”

“Nooo. It’s a piece of shell.” he picked it out and cracked a 4th egg into the pan. “Hmm. THAT’S … a CHICKEN.” Ugh!!

What are the odds, right? Like, I’ve probably only seen 3 of those in my life. And then there was one right in that moment.

Ewwwwww. I was so grossed out but all I could do was laugh. And then, as B threw the whole pan of eggs in the garbage, I did quick math in my head and scowled. Organic dozen = 3 dozen at Costco. Whatever. Cage Free, Antibiotic Free, Hormone Free Eggs. I’m sure we are healthier today because we ate them yesterday.

Ten minutes later I finish eating my cereal and go back to packing the girls lunches. “Hey Avery! Where’s your lunchbox?” It’s their responsibility to put it away in the island after school each day.

“Ummm. In my backpack?”

silence. “You mean, from before your two snow days? And…. the weekend?

“Uhhhh. huhhhh.”

I literally open this lunchbox to find uneaten creamy chicken noodle soup in a tupperware and made some very vocal aww man’s. But then? The smell hit me and I began dry heaving over the garbage can. blech! My best consolation was that of the sympathetic tone of Brian’s snickering.

~ by hthr on January 11, 2010.

2 Responses to “[3:365]”

  1. As I sit at my desk and read this, I am trying not to laugh out loud!! I am at the point in my life where I am finding sippy cups that my little one drops and roll behind the couch or a chair and when I find them I am also dry heaving as I bleach them to get the smell out. Gross I know but I am glad I am not the only one that is experiencing this!!

  2. That is so funny! My kids did the same thing, but luckily the only thing left was an unopened pudding cup.

Leave a Reply

