Adventures in HomeOwnership: Wallpaper

I feel a little silly showing you pictures of our house. You may as well just come over. But apparently “being in the neighborhood” is not as common as it used to be, what with (y)our crazy busy scheduled lives and all. I liked the old days when it came to all that droppin in to say hello stuff. I would welcome a return to that.

I got a text from my friend Greg this week saying it had been over a week since I blogged and, well, to get back on it I guess. So, I’ll give you some bathroom pictures.

My parents were here the past 10 days or so, and mom taught Brian and I how to wallpaper! It was pretty awesome. It served my personality well to have to measure and fit and smooth out and cut just right the paper sliding around on my walls. I think I could really get into it. It’s kind of like a grasscloth paper. And yes, it’s beige. Just like the walls, and just like the drapes. One of these day’s I’ll get brave and throw some color around.

Here’s a closeup on it and a picture of mom & Bri putting up the first piece.

guestbath2guestbath1

Here is a little stroll down memory lane for the past few months as well. I guess the change would be much more significant if the bathroom had some psychodelic color or something but I’m especially grateful it wasn’t. We love it. It suits us just right.

guestbath

Changing the vanity was a little bit of a shopping backfire, which ended up with a really happy ending anyway. I had asked Brian to go to this store here called Trees & Trends which is a floral and decorating store, but they have lawn & patio furniture in the summer as well. I was hoping something i liked may have been moved to clearance. He said he would drop me off and I told him it would only take 5 minutes and just to come in with me. That is when he saw this vanity and announced, “I hate pedestal sinks. We need this.” In all my 11 and one half years with him, I have never once heard him say he did not like a pedestal sink. I was dumbfounded, but seriously loved the vanity. We fought thought about it, worked the budget, talked it over quite a lot, and decided it was perfect for making house home. In the bathroom at least. So here it is! It’s been in our garage for a month and we have been so anxious to wallpaper the bathroom and then install it. Any job worth doing is worth doing right. Patience.

Remember, you’re welcome to drop by if you’re in the neighborhood, but don’t be coming over here and looking for seams in our wallpaper job!

~ by hthr on September 18, 2009.

4 Responses to “Adventures in HomeOwnership: Wallpaper”

  1. Bathroom looks great! But what I want is a post on your CHicago trip. Pronto, girlfriend…

  2. Oh my goodness, that looks great! You guys have done more than we have in 2 years!!! It’s really beautiful.

  3. […] words in my mouth So, just as soon as I say, yeah, drop in anytime! blah blah blah don’t you know that this morning, with Brian away to Atlanta, my children permanently on […]

  4. […] This month consisted of … more work on the house. Fun stuff though like paint & wallpaper. Also? A lifelong(ish) wish came true when we went to a U2 concert. In Chicago. With 10 other […]

Leave a Reply

