I got a hug from above today.

This will sound so stupid to … all of you. But I don’t care. I am so excited…

Back in the day when I was touring Thomasville on credit, there was a chair that Brian loved. Ohhhhh…he wanted this chair. Everytime we would stroll through the store, he would park himself in it for a while, throw his head back and disappear in some dreamlike state until I dragged him out of it. For whatever reason we did not buy it. That was roughly 8 years ago.

A couple years back, a friend of ours was selling their leather chair. This puppy was huge. I was just thinking of Brian and really wanting to do something nice for him so I bought it sight unseen. Oops. Wrong color. Wrong style. And waaaay bigger than I remembered. But Brian enjoyed it. Until I suggested a year later that we sell it to help pay off debt. It was so hard to do. The man just wanted a “mans chair”.

Well, with Brian getting ready to go to Haiti, I thought it would be nice to really clean up our bedroom and make it nice. Oprah says your master bedroom should be the first priority for making a retreat in the home, but it has always served as a “dumping grounds” at our house and a place to throw stuff when people come over. Because, really? Unless a good friend is over and I need some fashion advice, I don’t take people in my bedroom. That being said, we have never had a “retreat” of any sort, but I know what a difference it makes for B on those rare occasions when it is organized and the clothes are all hung and the towels are folded and the socks are matched and there aren’t any stacks of paper setting out … you get the point.

So here I am cleaning the bedroom and really getting into it. And I start to wonder if I might find a chair for our bedroom on Craigslist. Well listen. If you don’t think God cares about crazy little things in your life, I challenge you that He DOES, because y’all… THE CHAIR was for sale on CL only 15 minutes from my house.

Someone pass me a kleenex.

So here I sit this morning in my almost-uber-clean bedroom in the chair my husband wanted so badly 8 years ago. And not only did we get it at almost 90% off of what we would have paid back then, but it is perfectly broken in. I can’t wait for Brian to be home and enjoy it.

And as I sat here thanking God for His goodness to us, in my heart, I heard Him say Just wait, I’ll do it with a house for you too.

~ by hthr on May 2, 2009.

11 Responses to “I got a hug from above today.”

  1. so sweet…. I wish I could see his face when he comes home to that chair!!

  2. Remember…exceedingly, abundantly, more than you can ask or think…

  3. what an amazing story! matt and i both teared up 🙂

  4. Isn’t it wonderful when our Heavely Father says, “you’ve learned the lesson I intended to teach you and now I’m going to bless you with one of your desires.”

  5. love it!

  6. That’s a great story! Your husband is going to be so excited!

  7. Oh, what a sweet story! God is beaming in heaven, he so loves to bless us! I can totally relate on the bedroom dumping grounds!

  8. […] the way. Four weeks ago, May 2, I sat in total glee at how God would care to bring us a chair. And maybe you recall this little note I had at the very end: And as I sat here thanking God for […]

  9. […] sure to edit some pictures back in so you can see what I mean. It’s just a bush. But, then, this was just a chair too. And it is. But I won’t neglect to remember the bigger picture of it […]

  10. […] Find Balance? (Momspective)9. Mary @ Giving Up on Perfect10. (sharing your opinions effectively)11. heather @ highly caffeinated12. Lisa @ Stop and Smell the […]

  11. […] and some of his buddies left on their first mission trip to the Hands & Feet Project in Haiti. We got a chair. But not just any ole chair. I began a 5 minutes/room/day routine of cleaning house. Of course, it […]

Leave a Reply

