A picture is worth a thousand words. Here are 11.

I am not the most patient person when it comes to getting stuff done in the kitchen. However, my Taylor – loves to be in there with us. Far be it from me to squash her enthusiasm. I have to chant that to myself in my head when I’m trying to get dinner ready and she is right there under my feet. Don’t squash her interest…squash the garlic clove.

So with the girls home on Spring Break, I thought it would be great fun for them to make something in the kitchen with me. Many of you know Pioneer Womanif you don’t, go now please … you will L-O-V-E her. Promise. Have you met Bakerella yet? I’ve been reading her blog quite a while, so imagine my excitement when the two of them got together at PW’s lodge! Count it all joy sisters.

Bakerella is known for making these absolutely adorable cake pops. Cake on a stick. And then some.

2233369801_1275e69eaa

I’m crafty but not that crafty. However, it’s all about having fun with the kids. And let’s just say the journey is as important as the destination when it comes to cake pops.

Our goal for the day was to make these, except, we were making them as Easter egg shapes.

We baked a cake and then destroyed it. This alone was therapeutic for my children. We will do this again. And again.

090408-2

At this point, I was very hands on and that meant – hands off the camera unless I wanted to wash them mid egg formation. Which I did once to get this pic. It looks like Tay is praying over the cake…she may have been giving thanks because it. was. delicious! but I crack up at this because she is such a teacher, showing Ave how she was rolling the egg shapes.

cakepop4

Here is what came about an hour or so later: Egg shaped cake on a stick. Ready for the freezer.

cakepop3

While the cake pops were in the freezer for a bit, we took advantage of the open space in our dining room (don’t worry, I didn’t sell the table again … it’s back now!) We Danced! Well, they danced. I cleaned up the cake explosion left behind by all the fun.

cakepop6

See the bond of love between two sisters engaged in cake-pop-making and ballroom dancing? Truly therapeutic. For all of us.

090408-3

After they came out of the freezer, it was time to dip them in candy coating. This was my job all the way. I sprinkled some of them immediately, and left others plain for the kids to decorate. There was no way they were going to be able to decorate ALL of the pops that we made!

cakepop7

I tasted one so you could see what had just gone down. Oh the things I do to create a visual explanation. Yum.

cakepop2

After the coating had dried we all painted the plain ones with corn syrup & sprinkles.

cakepop10

cakepop8

Behold, the feeling of sugar under your feet. And getting caught putting it in your tummy!

cakepop9

So this took a lot longer than I thought it would, but we had so much fun together. And eating them hasn’t exactly been a chore either!

~ by hthr on April 17, 2009.

8 Responses to “A picture is worth a thousand words. Here are 11.”

  1. I am making these in a couple of weeks! Hopefully mine turn out just as cute!

  2. I saw this on Martha a while back and then forgot to make them. Thanks for the reminder! I love your pictures, by the way.

  3. Wow! Your creations looked fun to make and tasty to eat. How cute!

  4. These looks so fun & yummy! I will definitely have to do these sometime!

  5. awesome! that looks like a great idea! thanks for passing it on to those of us who are not so up-to-date with PW. 😀

  6. Ok, too cute! And it looks like the girls had a blast.

  7. I saw the first picture and said out loud–“She did NOT actually do these!” I saw them on PW and thought “some day…maybe!” And yours look so professional (including the pictures, btw0! I love them and am so impressed with your creativity in entertaining and bonding with your girls. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!

  8. […] Avery turned 6. We celebrated twice actually. I attempted a baking crafting feat with the girls and not only had a blast but got some of my favorite pictures of the year doing it. […]

Leave a Reply

