Some days, the silence is deafening.

I can’t remember being sick in bed like I was this past weekend. During the garage sale Saturday, I was achy all over and not feeling great, but by the time it was over and cleaned up, I was literally just depleted. I went to bed and only got up a few times before Monday morning came around. Whatever this sick-bug was (accompanied by pink-eye just for fun), has left me with sinus & throat issues and little to no voice, depending on the time of day.

It’s pretty interesting not being able to speak normally. It has caused me to weigh my words the past few days more than I would otherwise.

Yesterday while driving through the country to Avery’s Kindergarten Easter picnic, I had the sunroof back, the windows down and the music cranked. The sun was shining, the air felt cool…I was loving it! I tried to sing along with the radio and was instantly reminded – I can’t. Couldn’t even squeak out a note! Forced to listen. Drive. Enjoy the moment. However, one of those moments included this song – and can I just say, having no choice but to consider the words I was hearing, it wrecked me. Fortunately, I haven’t been wearing eye makeup with the whole pink-eye garbage, so it wasn’t like the aftermath of this song would scare any of my Kindergarten friends away.

Ohh, Darius Rucker. That is just too much for a mama’s heart today.

He didn’t have to wake up,  He’d been up all nite
Lay’n there in bed listen’n To his new born baby cry
He makes a pot of coffee, He splashes water on his face
His wife gives him a kiss and says, Its gonna be OK

It wont be like this for long,
One day soon we’ll look back laugh’n,
At the week we brought her home
This phase is gonna fly by, So baby just hold on
It wont be like this for long

Four years later bout four thirty, She’s crawling in their bed
And when he drops her off at preschool, She’s clinging to his leg
The teacher peels her off of him, He says what can I do
She says now dont you worry, This will only last a week or two

It wont be like this for long
One day soon we’ll drop her off, And she wont even know you’re gone
This phase is gonna fly by, If you can just hold on
It wont be like this for long

One day soon she’ll be a teenager,
And at times you’ll think she hates him
Then he’ll walk her down the isle, And he’ll raise her vail
But right now she up and cry’n, And the truth is that he dont mind
As he kisses her good night, And she says her prayers
He lays down there beside her, Till her eyes are finally closed
And just watch’n her it breaks his heart, Cause he already knows

It wont be like this for long
One day soon that little girl is gonna be, All grown up and gone
Yeah this phase is gonna fly by, He’s try’n to hold on
It wont be like this for long
It wont be like this for long

Do you have kids? Do you feel like your kids are growing up too fast? Yeah. Me too. Cuz this was yesterday…no, really…it was.

p4090044_1

Some days it’s a little more than I even know what to do with. It makes me want to just pour my heart out on them and cuddle and play and laugh and just LOVE em!

But it’s hard some days too. Actually, Pete Wilson said it perfectly this week:

When I pull into the garage everyday I have to say a simple prayer that goes something like this: God you know I’m tired. You know I would love to go into this house and just hide out for a few hours to recoop. But God what I’m about to do is the most important part of my day. Give me energy I don’t have. Give me wisdom I can’t find. Allow me to go in there and give the best of what I have.

Can I get an Amen?

~ by hthr on April 2, 2009.

2 Responses to “Some days, the silence is deafening.”

  1. That song make me cry every.single.time. If you call my cell phone, that song is what you will here.

  2. So this is my favorite album right now! Took a while to be able to sing this song without crying too! Thanks for sharing the video, hadn’t seen it. These words have become a daily reminder to myself and to Chris. Like every night when he puts her to bed somehow she’s negotiated this little routine of ME going in there for a “BJ & Baby Bop” story. I’m usually so spent and just want to continue laying on the couch, but I remember…

Leave a Reply

