The zipper on my Christmas dress is officially doomed.

First, I tried this recipe, and practically overnight – had issues. That has got to be one of THE most fattening desserts I have ever eaten.

I am not even kidding. I don’t kid.

I should have suspected it when I saw the 3 amigos (heavy cream) on my counter, but no – it didn’t register with me that that might not be HEALTHY. That the whipping cream might UNDO all the good of the PUMPKIN part. It was delicious though, oh Rachael Ray …. THAT was DELICIOUS. And the rest is now in the garbage because I could barely workout the other morning. Must be the pumpkin pudding pushing up on my lungs.

Nevertheless, Rachael Ray, you inspire me. Not for your food so much…but your MARKETING. Well, okay…30 minute meals are inspiring too. Whatever.

Never in my life have I seen someone market something so geniously as this: a Garbage Bowl.

So inspired am I that when I got an email this morning announcing that she would be at my local mall next week signing her new (hey! 30 minute meal) cookbook, I scrambled to the shower, pulled clothes on and rushed out to the store to get tickets and reserve books. Yes I did. Because I have to meet a marketing genius like Rachael Ray. I will stand in line for hours in cute shoes to meet her and take her book home to my cookbook shelf. Imagine all the hours of people watching ahead of me. I am so excited!

I will be thinking of what to ask her to write me in the inside cover until then. I think it should include something about the garbage bowl, don’t you?

I’d also like to thank the Boy Scouts of America for their great popcorn fundraising efforts that have allowed such great pleasure as Chocolate Carmel Crunch Popcorn to enter my home. I can’t keep my hand out of the stupid bucket.

When I came home a little while ago, I found a new DVD player had been delivered to my doorstep. Black Friday deals delivered on hump day. Awesome. And 20 minutes later? Popcorn delivery.

I’m sure you know what we’ll be doing tonight. Uhh…movies & decorating the 3rd Christmas tree of course.

~ by hthr on December 3, 2008.

8 Responses to “The zipper on my Christmas dress is officially doomed.”

  1. Hold up. Wait a minute. R-squared in Middle Tennessee. What’s the 411… because evidently, despite my Rachael Ray fanatacism, I didn’t get this secret super cool e-mail.

  2. Williams Sonoma @ Cool Springs Galleria Mall … Tues the 9th. There are 500 tickets available. Call WS for tickets…they were taking orders by phone when I was there.

  3. Oh, awesome! I love Rachael Ray! Do you know what time?
    Also, why do you have 3 Christmas trees?!

  4. One o’clock.

    What do you mean WHY do we have 3 trees? I would have more if Brian would let me!

  5. Personally, I think her inscription should say something about how sorry she is about your Christmas dress…. and you are right about the marketing thing. I think she’s a better marketer than cook… but her cocktails KICK some Christmas booty! 🙂

    Hey, just so you and Kristine and Peachyperspective know, I hate all you people who can go to the mall and stand in line for hours to people watch and meet Rachel Ray. If I was in Russia, I could go because people with babies get to go to the front of the line, but here everyone just stares at you. I think that might be a good blog entry for my own blog… okay, I’m off to write it! 🙂

  6. @Ondrea I think you have put me on my way to crafting the perfect inscription!

    You explained the Russian culture so well…I love it! And isn’t that the way it SHOULD be? Y’all need to click over and read it! http://ephesiansonefive.blogspot.com/2008/12/russian-way.html

  7. I’m not very familiar with Rachel Ray’s show, but I’m guessing she probably has a team of people helping her with her marketing genius.

  8. […] that to say, I did not get to suggest adding an alert label on the Pumpkin Pudding recipe or make mention of the garbage bowl. I just said thank you and was moved along by security. And […]

Leave a Reply

