Test Kitchen: Pumpkin Pudding

testkitchen

This is the recipe that sparked what I hope will be something fun! It comes from my friend Jean in Alpharetta who was watching Rachel Ray last week. I bet ten bucks Rachel was doing a turkey leftover marathon, but I digress.

The ingredients were few and pretty standard. I only had to go to the store for a bag of Gingersnap Cookies and Heavy Whipping Cream. Talk about an easy recipe! All but 2 ingredients thrown in a bowl and mixed with a hand mixer for a few minutes!

pumpkpudd1

Whipped up Cream, meet spicy Pumpkin mixture; Pumpkin, Whipped Cream.

pumpkpudd2

I couldn’t remember how many cups were in a pint, so I got 3 pints because I hate running out to the store mid-recipe. [Two pints was all we needed. I used the rest in my coffee.]

pumpkpudd3

Assembly: overlapping is nice and oh man that stuff is good. Wow! At this point, I was hearing Britney Spears chanting in my head, Gimme, gimme more, gimme more, gimme gimme more… but I had to wait at least 4 hours. ::sigh:: 

pumpkpudd5

Our friends Kelly & Isla were our test kitchen samplers tonight…they came over for coffee & games & we just sat & grazed on Pumpkin Pudding instead. Suffice to say, they liked it pretty well – I suggested a third helping and they gave in pretty quickly. Of course, it didn’t hurt that Isla’s favorite cookies are gingersnaps either.

pumpkpudd4

Pumpkin Pudding
The Rachael Ray Show, AirDate 11/20/08

  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk (14 ounces)
  • 1 can pumpkin puree (15 ounces)(not pumpkin pie mix)
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1 teaspoon ground clove
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 package instant vanilla pudding mix (5.1-ounces)
  • 3 cups heavy cream
  • 1 box Ginger Snaps (12 ounces)

Preparation:
In a medium mixing bowl, combine the sweetened condensed milk, pumpkin, spices, pudding mix and a good splash of water (about 1/4 cup). Using an electric mixer, beat everything together until smooth and thickened, about 2 minutes. Set aside.

In a large bowl, whip the heavy cream with an electric mixer until stiff peaks form. Gently fold the whipped cream into the pudding mixture until blended and no streaks of pudding remain.

To assemble, layer the cookies and pudding mixture in a serving dish (or several individual dishes) in whatever fashion you like. Cover the puddings with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 2 and up to 8 hours (you want the ginger snaps to soften up from sitting in the pudding mixture).

Top with some ground cinnamon or more whipped cream if you like, and serve cold. Serves 8.

hthr says: if you like pumpkin &/or gingersnaps – go for it! Leave it in the fridge at least 5 hours though so the cookies soften. Two hours seems pretty premature to me. So yummy….no one has to know it was this easy except you! (edited to add: 24 hours later … yes. that is the magic dessert time.)

brian says: “I thought it was very good. Umm. The gingersnap cookies made me want to try a different crust on a pumpkin pie.”

Mmmm. Now you’re talkin. Get back in that kitchen!

~ by hthr on November 29, 2008.

5 Responses to “Test Kitchen: Pumpkin Pudding”

  1. wow. that looks really good. Way better than my horrible looking pumpkin pie.

    http://anonymouslyangry.wordpress.com/

  2. That’s a really good alternative to pumpkin pie… probably not healthier but it looks really good*

  3. How fun! Glad your first round at this turned out so well.

  4. […] zipper on my Christmas dress is officially doomed. First, I tried this recipe, and practically overnight – had issues. That has got to be one of THE most fattening desserts I […]

  5. […] bet you’re wondering where the food is at this house. Come into the kitchen. I made some Pumpkin Pudding for […]

Leave a Reply

