Intro to my Test Kitchen

My friend Jean (the non-blog-reading, non-facebooking, new to texting one) called me the other day and said, “Heather! You like Pumpkin-ey stuff. You have to make this and see how it is. Rachel Ray SWEARS by it. Says it’s always thought to be AMAZING at any gathering.” or something like that.

I do like me some pumpkin-ey stuff.

She twisted my arm without ever twisting it. I found the recipe online and it looked reaaaaallly easy. I could blog about it. NO! I could do MORE! I could take suggestions on what recipes to try out and make it a regular thing!

Yes! So here we go. I’ll give it a whirl anyway…I think it would be fun if y’all would just comment here when you read (I can see you, remember?) I am no Pioneer Woman, but I will provide some pictures. No quality assurance on that though. This is me. A total non-professional behind the camera AND in the kitchen. I do okay with speed typing, but that’s about it.

So leave me a comment or shoot me an email with a link to a recipe or whatever you’ve just found that you’re afraid to try. We like all kinds of food over here. And we’re not afraid of new things. Well, the warm brussel sprout slaw Jean called back and suggested 10 minutes later was taking it a little far I thought, but hey, I didn’t say NO like – immediately.

Brian & I will make it, take a pic of it, make our friends eat it, and blog the verdict with the recipe posted at the end. And then you can decide for yourself if you care to make it or not. Let me know if you want to come and eat with us too. We love that. Just be sure and leave your white gloves at home.

But its totally up to you. You have to tell us what you’re hestitating to cook … go for it. We’re waiting!

~ by hthr on November 28, 2008.

3 Responses to “Intro to my Test Kitchen”

  1. Good luck with your adventure! There’s some wierd recipes out there and not everyone would be willing to try them all.

  2. Well I can’t say I’m much afraid to try new recipes. But speaking of pumpink-ey stuff – look up “Luscious Four Layer Pumpkin Cake” on Kraft foods. It’s gorgeous, easy & delicious!!! Was a great alternative to traditional pumpkin pie which nobody in my family really eats anyway.

  3. Fun idea! I will send you some when I run across them. Since my little digital camera doesn’t do justice to the food pics I take, maybe I should hire you to come over and photograph the dishes instead. 😉

Leave a Reply

