Tis the Season

Earlier this year I wrote a little post about the word NOEL. Basically, the word Noel, when traced back to its origins can be interpreted to mean “everything is gonna be alright!”.

I was out shopping yesterday, and saw some Christmas stuff on display. I’m a sucker for Christmas decor, but one particular sign caught my eye. It simply was the word Noel.

My brain instantly skipped Christmas and defined it the way I’ve found it more meaningful this year … everything is gonna be alright

Oh! I have to have it! I thought. I stood there and looked at it though. Do I HAVE to have it? Or do I just really want it? It’s not on sale. We don’t buy “stuff” that isn’t on sale. Thats just stupid. This WILL go on sale.

I stood there looking at it a while longer. I didn’t see any more of them. Dave would say there’s a pallet of these things in the back. He would say its stupid to think that this is the last one and you HAVE to have it. I walked around all the other Christmas displays while hooking my thumb through the O in Noel. There weren’t any more of them out on display. That was it. Aside from the assumed pallet out back, of course.

So I bought the word. It wasn’t expensive. I spent more money at Starbucks Sunday after church than I did on the dumb word. But I have to tell you, I think it’s one of my favorite things only because of what its translation has come to mean to me this year. All year long I’ve had Noel on the brain.

I realized I hadn’t been thinking along those lines with all my inner struggle lately. And I need to, because I belong to the One who’s gonna make sure it’s all alright.

Last night on Facebook I saw this update and my eyes stopped scanning. I would never call anyone out, so I darkened the name, but when i saw this I just felt so frustrated. Because, seriously?

election

So basically, if McCain gets in (because I assume thats what this person is saying), we can all sit back and cruise on through another 4 years? Are you kidding me?

Regardless of who is elected at the end of today, we need to be on our knees! The Bible says to “pray without ceasing” … not “pray under Democratic leadership”, not “pray when you’re worried”, and not “pray when things don’t go your way”. I have to wonder what life would be like right now if Christians had indeed been on their knees the past 8 years!?

I almost think that if Obama is elected it might just cause some Christians to get back on their knees. And you know what, that wouldn’t be so bad.

I am grateful for the privilege to vote. I hope that late tonight, curled up on my couch with a blanket and cup of tea, I get that “sense of relief” too, but you better believe that we all need to be in prayer no matter WHO gets elected.

And – no matter who it is, you’ve read the end of The Book. Ultimately, Noel.

~ by hthr on November 4, 2008.

One Response to “Tis the Season”

  1. My dad’s name is Noel, pronounced like Joel. I saw a sign like that at Target for 2.50. I think I’ll go back and get it now. I really like the meaning!

Leave a Reply

