Fall fun (most of it anyway)

Well, Halloween is finally here! The rest of the year will officially fly by now and be over before we know it.

Last Monday the kids were home on Fall Break and I was feeling a bit nostalgic I guess. The weather had started turning cooler, the days are noticeably shorter even without the time change yet, and my annual comfort food cravings … well, they are in full swing too. I’ve been thinking about my grandma a lot lately and recalling how she was always in the kitchen and had something on the stove or ready otherwise. One thing she would do homemade was applesauce.

Since apples are in season and my “want to do” list is outweighing my “need to do” list anyway, I decided to go ahead and try my hand at making applesauce too. I made a double batch and thought it would be great to freeze some for the winter since the apples are tasting so good anyway. So off to Walmart I went with kids in tow. I hate Walmart. But I needed to kill two birds with one stone as they say, and wasn’t at all interested in dragging the kids into more than one stop.

We pulled the cart over to the apple display which was making an angled aisle next to the massive boxes of pumpkins for sale. The pumpkins were big and actually really nice and piled high. Higher than I thought was necessary, but what do I know, right? My girls love to push the shopping cart. They are big girls now and can see over the top. Well, one of them can. The other one I worry about with control of pretty much anything, so I told her to stand next to the cart.

I specifically told the girls, “DON’T TOUCH the pumpkins. DON’T. TOUCH.”

They looked at me and said okay. I grabbed a bag and started picking out some apples for pie and sauce. I put the bag in the basket, looked at them and told them, “DON’T BUMP the pumpkins. They might fall. DON’T TOUCH or BUMP.”

okay.

I began choosing more apples, turning and looking at my older daughter who was making sure she did anything but bump or touch the pumpkins. She looked at me and smiled and I smiled back and Ave helped me pick more apples. Another couple bags were chosen and as I was picking the last one I heard Tay go into freak-out mode.

She bumped the pumpkins with the cart.

You wouldn’t think big ole pumpkins would roll or anything. You wouldn’t think.

As I turned in what felt like slow motion but was actually lightning speed, I braced the cart with my leg. A pumpkin had rolled down and was balancing between the edge of the cart and the edge of the pumpkin box (huge huge box, probably 4 or 5 feet square!). It would have been fine to grab the pumpkin and set it back in an oddly stable part of the display, but remember, these pumpkins were piled too high to pass hthr code.

Another came down and stopped at the cart. And another. And another was on its way, so I couldn’t reach the first one and the weight was pushing the cart away from them.

If you can’t picture whats happening – just picture this: It was fixin to rain pumpkins.

What is the sound of 10-pound pumpkins hitting the floor at Walmart, you ask? Do they crack? Do they bounce? Do the stems split and fly across the floor?

I think I will just hide the answers to those questions in my heart. Or you could check the surveillance camera tape at the big store.

Here are a few pics from the past week or so. These pumpkins however were picked properly from the patch!

From left, the top coming off the first carved pumpkin, Avery’s dramatic presentation of “the inside of a pumpkin stinks”, Taylor reading us a very sweet book she made about pumpkin carving (text below), and me & Ave on her Kindergarten field trip earlier this week to the pumpkin farm. Good times.

What is it like to be a Christian? It’s like being a PUMPKIN!

God picks you from the patch, brings you in, and washes all the dirt off of you.

Then He cuts off the top and scoops out all the yucky stuff. He removes the seeds (pumpkin seeds glued on top of the words) Doubt … Hate … Greed

Then He carves you a new smiling face and puts His light inside of you to shine for all the world to see!

I’m lovin that. Happy Halloween!

~ by hthr on October 31, 2008.

2 Responses to “Fall fun (most of it anyway)”

  1. seriously??? taylor wrote those words for her book??? insightful and delightful.

  2. No…she made the book at church, but she did not “write” it. She was just reading it to us and I thought it was pretty awesome. It put a new spin on the carved pumpkins for me. Actually made trick-r-treating a bit more fun.

Leave a Reply

