please remain seated as we are encountering turbulence

I must be trying to do something right because I have officially pissed off some corner of hell, and they are going after me in force.

I’ve heard many times that when you are trying to refine different areas of your life and surrender others, things can begin to go awry – and not because they would have anyway, but because the devil is waaaay mad about it.

I feel like I’ve been bullied on the playground pretty rough for the past couple weeks, and now all my baggage and all my crap is being thrown at me in brick form. Not just mud balls. But bricks. And it is ugly. Of course, if you see me at Target later today, you won’t know it. And we’ll talk and laugh and go on our way to find last minute Halloween stuff. This an internal battle of spiritual, mental and emotional significance, and for some reason, I am grounds for war right now. This is way more than “feeling emotional” during PMS.

PMS would be much easier to take on than this.

I can see you clickin in here and checking my blog to see what craziness is going on at our house the past few days and I’m sorry my blog has been so quiet. You know I’m always pretty transparent with you, but this is the first time something has felt hands off and unbloggable (is that a word?). However, Brian’s completely inappropriate puking pumpkin is totally something I will share with you in the next day or so.

As I was walking to the computer to start typing, I thought, Wouldn’t it be great if I reached in my pocket (I’m still wearing my winter coat from this morning because I’m cold!) and found money in there? It would be great. It would be awesome! So I reached in both my pockets just to humor myself and in the right one found some paper. I pulled it out and it is 2 certificates for kids meals at Chili’s and $42. I’m so going out to eat tonight. I will skip the margaritas though. The guy with the red tail knows all about my OCD.

~ by hthr on October 29, 2008.

3 Responses to “please remain seated as we are encountering turbulence”

  1. Okay first? How awesome is you coat pocket! Second, I would say throw the bricks back, but then that would be stooping to their level. So, yea, say Hi in Target with a big ol’ smile.

    Happy Halloween!

  2. Can I borrow your winter coat? It’s 90 degrees in So Cal, but I’d wear it anyway for $42 and dinner out!

    I’m proud of you for diligently pursuing strength of character even when it gets hard. You’ll figure it all out soon. Only God knows your heart. Satan can’t read your mind, only your actions and your attitude. I don’t know what’s going on, but I need to hear these things myself, too. If God is for us, who can be against us?

    And thanks for all you do share. We’re celebrating Jack’s 2nd birthday in 2 weeks. I’m going to be in your boat soon enough! I’ll need all the help I can get in a few years!

  3. My coat rocks. My purses do too…I found a 50-spot in an inside pocket earlier this month. Suh-weeeet!

Leave a Reply

