On the 3rd day of school bus riding…

Yesterday afternoon, a friend of my daughters got off the bus and told me that (yesterday) a boy (we’ll call “R” because thats not his first or last initial) was pushing Tay’s face into another boys face to make them kiss each other.

If you see this as no big deal, please feel free to move on to the next blog post in your feed reader now.

I realize kids are kids but at the same time, it was a weird thing to hear that some kid had invaded the personal space of not only my child, but another. Not only that, where do 6 year olds learn to do that? I figured it best to make my husband proud and not get upset or overreact inwardly or outwardly (because flailing my arms & chasing down the bus did run through my mind for a moment, but I held it in).

We got in the house and after a half hour or so, Tay came over to talk to me. I asked her about it a bit more and told her to do to me what R had done so I understood better. We were forehead to forehead within 5 seconds.

I asked her what she did when that happened. She flexed her arm to show me her muscles and said, “I did this to show him I am stronger than him. Because I AM stronger than him. And then I said, ‘R. Take your stinking hand off. my. head.’ And he did.”

I was so proud. I debated picking them up today so she wouldn’t have to deal with that boy again. But, I don’t know. It’s kind of one of those things that she has to deal with and I can’t rescue her from everything and everyone. She’s learning to deal with it and I think she can. We talked about how and what and why and all that. But if you know me, you know I’ll be making the most of my 20 seconds with the bus driver this afternoon.

~ by hthr on September 12, 2008.

4 Responses to “On the 3rd day of school bus riding…”

  1. way to go, Tay! if only you could have gotten a picture of the boys’ faces when she flexed!

  2. Go Taylor!!!!! Stinkin’ boys!

  3. That’s our girl! Taylor can walk the walk! Heather and Brian are wonderful parents and have taught the girls about self-reliance. Taylor has always loved to have “her” space, and for some boy to get into it; watch out, Kiddo!

    We Miss you guys! Love your blog!

  4. Good for her! Don’t even get me started on some of the things A has told me about the bus! (ugh!)

Leave a Reply

