Kindergarten was a hit!

This morning while I was packing Avery’s lunch, she got up from eating breakfast, came over and wrapped her arms around my legs and said, “I love you mama. I’m gonna miss you today.” ::sigh:: she went back to eating her breakfast, and I to making her lunch, and then she came back with more hugs. “I think you should call daddy to come home and have lunch with you today so you don’t have to eat all alone.” Oh, she is truly my buddy.

I thought for sure she was going to fall over backwards with her big ole’ backpack on! It was heavy! When she came home, I opened her lunchbox and found a swimming pool in the bottom of not only the lunchbox, but the backpack too…she didnt drink all of her juicebox so she just put it back in there. Mmm. Fruity. Lesson #1: Throw away your open food at the end of lunchtime. I think that should trump a few of the other basics. Under my roof anyway.

This school year is going to be awesome. My heart hurts though… it will be an adjustment of new proportions. It is a new chapter for us. For me. Just feels a little awkward right now…and joyful, all at the same time.

~ by hthr on August 13, 2008.

4 Responses to “Kindergarten was a hit!”

  1. That is the cutest picture EVER.

  2. your girls are just SO beautiful (as are you!) and it makes me happy to see that they are taking these new changes with such stride! I know you are so proud… and I am proud of you 🙂

  3. What a beautiful picture! She looks so happy! I teared up when my niece started Kindergarten. Who knows what kind of a mess I’ll be when Lovey starts!

  4. She looks so cute and excited! I’m glad she had a good first day.

Leave a Reply

