The queen is now full. Someday, a king will come.

I got a phone call Monday morning from my mom. “I see the picture on your blog. umm… was that your bed they were putting on the truck? I thought you were just selling the headboard part. But it looked white.”

There was a moment of silence filled with an onrush of thoughts in my head. I think I’m about to get in trouble with my mom. What if she’s mad we sold our mattress? Is this totally weird? This is totally weird. I can’t lie though.

YEP!” I said. “They thought it was comfortable! … and Brian has wanted a king for years, so its … ya know … no big deal.

When someone is shelling out Benjamin Franklin’s in front of your face, and you’re in the habit of collecting them, you don’t just say “no”. You sell the bed.

Fortunately, since our girls merged bedrooms last month (so far so good, btw) we still had Tay’s full size bed in the garage. Actually, that was on craigslist too, and a girl was going to come and see it about the same time this couple was looking at our bed … and I called and asked her to wait … and then oops! we sold our mattresses … so Brian hauled the others back upstairs into our room.

“Do we have full size bedding?” Brian asked me.
“Yeah…it’s pink.”
“ugh…man!” he looked pained. “Where is it?”
“on eBay.”
“You’re kidding…”
“Nope. 20 watchers already. Might do well!” I had kept back an extra set of full size sheets. I just wanted to see the look on his face. It was classic. I love tormenting my husband.

So Saturday night we get into this full size bed set on the floor in our bedroom. We just stared at the ceiling fan as reality sunk in and then turned and looked at each other and started giggling. “Can you believe it!? We’re almost there! This rocks!” I went to roll over to turn out the light and came face to face with the edge of the night table. “Oh my gosh. this will take some getting used to.”

A friend, hearing our crazy story of the bed sale said they had an extra queen and would love for it to be out of their garage. “Ohhh! Really?” Brian was cooing at that point but I totally interrupted him, “Thank you so much but … we’re fine … we’ll pass…

Being a little uncomfortable is a good thing. And I don’t mean our sleeping arrangement is actually even uncomfortable. For us its all mental, and without doubt, it’s a strong motivator. Quite possibly, for us it is the strongest. Not only that, but jabbing my husband in the side and telling him to get up has never been so easy. I don’t even have to roll over! So, I dunno … we may never get that king bed now.

~ by hthr on August 7, 2008.

4 Responses to “The queen is now full. Someday, a king will come.”

  1. I’m so excited for you guys. Seriously… sleeping arrangements and all. Coffee soon?

  2. I am sooooo proud and a little jealous. Actually alot jealous. You guys are great models for the rest of us. we are volunteering at LIVE Tampa! YEAH! Frank is coming too. I can’t wait.

  3. you make me laugh out loud…joe keeps looking over at me, like “what???”

  4. […] legs, hips, knees, necks … well, that’s a whole other story … remember when we sold our bed once-upon-an-awkward-moment when two strangers were curled up on it? It’s okay. We are the ones who said […]

Leave a Reply

