Good things come to those who don’t wait

I’ll just admit it now, I’m pretty much addicted to checking both my email and my feed reader. Not an hour goes by that I don’t refresh the reader or, If I’m home, 20-30 minutes on checking my email.

All that to say, yesterday afternoon I checked my CraigsList RSS feed on “Furniture located in (our town) for under (whatever) dollar amount”. A title came up that said, “this is a steal!!!!!” and I thought, oh great, more crap for sale in town. But something possessed me to click on it anyway and when I did I saw this big dining room table and six chairs – pretty new looking, for only $100.

I was just crying to my husband recently that we have no decent table to seat more than two other people comfortably. And we love to have people over, so this really is tough for me.

So I emailed immediately and a lady wrote back pretty much right away and said she had new furniture being delivered the next day and needed this out of her house. So I was ringing her doorbell within the half-hour, and when Brian came home yesterday from work, there were 6 chairs in the living room and a huge tabletop down in the garage waiting to be carried up!

It’s not exactly my style, but who’s being choosy? I’m so excited about it and feel blessed to have been able to purchase it. The legs are a gray-blue color that nearly matches our walls (which we still have not determined if they are gray or blue. Yesterday they looked purple to me. IDK.)

We’re debating painting it to make it a darker brown, but we’re no painting pros. I’m not sure if that’s worth pursuing or not. I think it has potential. Now to figure out what to do with that big empty wall behind it. Photos, I think….

Game night anyone?

~ by hthr on July 8, 2008.

One Response to “Good things come to those who don’t wait”

  1. yay! that looks like it’s in great shape too–lets paint together!

Leave a Reply

