Green may be my favorite color, but…

I was reading my friend Julie’s blog post this morning about her adventures in planting. She claims she doesn’t have a green thumb, but after seeing her pictures and descriptions, I question that entirely. Especially because she busted out the word alkaline. You can’t use words like that and say you don’t have a green thumb.

I wandered into the kitchen a while afterwards to make a cup of chai tea (still in my pajamas…man, I love summer vacation!) and while I did, I peeked out the window to check on my beautiful and aromatic basil plants.

I am so proud of them. I’ve been planning meals to include this rockin basil for at least a week…

And when I peeked out there, this is what I saw:

I’m so sad.

So Julie, if you think you don’t have a green thumb, well…a picture’s worth a thousand words.

~ by hthr on May 23, 2008.

5 Responses to “Green may be my favorite color, but…”

  1. Hahahalarious!!!! So you win…this round. We still have all summer left to duke it out though. After all, i didn’t include the scrawny “something lily” i finally ditched this morning, or the little dead plant i had been given by my neighbor, but we’ll see. i too want to grow basil, so this could get interesting. A little friendly garden competition never hurt anyone, so the race is on for whoever can grow the yummiest basil. you up for that???

  2. i was paying you a compliment! you and your beautiful flowers!

    in my mind, you win already. however, I do love basil, so I’ll take your challenge and we’ll have to cook for each other at the end. deal? someone help! we need tips on growing basil!

  3. It’s payback for us not leaving our houseplants under better supervision when we went away on our honeymoon. 🙂

  4. Oh Heather. You and I have black thumbs huh? I’m such a bad plant mommy, I’ll email you a picture of what I have sitting on the shelf in my kitchen……

  5. […] adventures await If you’ve been reading here for any length of time you know I have two black thumbs when it comes to growing much of anything other than children, blood pressure, and the volume of my radio. So when my friend […]

Leave a Reply

