Vacation: then came the day

I grew up having a big meal (called “dinner” even though it was at the lunch hour) on Sundays after church. It was a time for us to all gather together for a nice meal. You wouldn’t dare be late. There are sweet salads, rolls, probably some ridiculously good gravy and dessert. You could expect to do dishes for a while when it was all said & done. It was “Sunday Dinner” and it is one of the things I look forward to when going back home to my mom & dad’s and one of the things I will always remember about home.

This time around we also celebrated Avery’s birthday with my parents, uncles and great aunt. We had a wonderful time. As always, mom prepared an amazing meal (taylor cleaned her plate 3 times, although I lost track of how much of that was orange marshmallow salad!) Here are the girls with my Great Aunt Tena and then Avery with my mom and her specially requested strawberry cake.

So, the sunburn was starting to look good on us, and we were all feeling better. Avery had really neat new birthday gifts to play with and was really excited, as was Taylor because my uncles never forget her! My friends Greg & Allyssa came over with their sweet little boy Matthew (Allyssa comments on my blog from time to time so you might recognize her name from there too). We got caught up and enjoyed some leftover birthday cake before a typical Florida storm brewed and we said our goodbye’s.

The girls were running around outside and delaying the adios protocol as usual. They were pretty wound up by the time we got back inside. I told them to go wash their hands for supper, as my mom had it all warmed up on the stove. The girls are forever running in the house and my parents have a nice big one to run in!

Well, Avery must have been ready to take a header into mom & dads couch in the lanai because she charged into there but didn’t quite make it to the couch. She tripped and fell flat out and I heard a snap and I swear to you I knew inside immediately that she had broken her arm, although I hoped it had just been her shoe snapping the rail from the doors. Her screams were for more than a stubbed toe or rug burn though.

I ran over to her and heard everything swooshing in my ears in that moment. My dad had already helped her up and she was holding her arm and it just didn’t look right. I was terrified to look at it any closer for fear of a bone sticking out if in fact it was broken. (I don’t like lifted toenails, remember?) Mom looked at it and looked at me and said it. “It’s broken.” I seriously lost all feeling in my legs and got dizzy.

Mom called 911 and I called Allyssa because she had just left and she is an excellent paramedic. I knew she would advise me as a ‘mom’ and as being in the know. The paramedics who came to the house were wonderful and even took a picture of me & Avery in the ambulance en route to the hospital (how dimented am I? seriously. Avery will probably question many things someday. I just thought she’d want to remember. Maybe she wont though. She’ll probably hate cameras and I’ll just nod my head and silently know why.)

So after a couple hours and some more morphine to keep Avery somewhat comfy they ultimately determined that she needed to see an Orthopedic Doctor the next morning, however when they unwrapped her splint from the paramedics, they saw that her arm was basically dimpling at the surface of the skin which complicated things and they could not send us home to wait until the next morning with that. So…(I know, you’re like come on already) the Orthopedic Surgeon on call happened to be upstairs in the hospital and came right down to see Avery. He explained that her elbow was dislocated and one of the arm bones broken and that he would have to take her into surgery to reset it because of the dimpling as I call it, and the elbow problem. If the elbow would not reset correctly, we would have to go an hour north to the Children’s Hospital. Thankfully, we did not have to entertain that option…

Even though I was internally screaming “WHHHHYYYYY?” with my head between my knees, God was mercifully there in spite of me and I knew it for fact when the Surgeon said he had a fellow colleague from school with a practice here in our town. Our town, 750 miles away. That’s when I decided to just be still.

They took her up to surgery and can I just brag on my kid for a minute? She is the bravest little peanut. She did not scream or speak rudely to anyone at all even though she was in so much pain. She even tried to smile. She was not at all scared. She did fabulously. And waking up from surgery, she was even more pleasant. It was just good to see that she was not hurting anymore at that point.

My mom, who is forever calm, was a great support and help to me. There really was nothing we could do for Avery. We prayed for her and talked to her. We could really only be with her that night. Evidently, that was enough. (And later, lift her onto the potty, so she could tinkle in order to be discharged from the hospital.)

And isn’t texting great? I texted many friends while we waited for her to come out of surgery, who all began praying for Avery. One of my best friends (known as my sister to the hospital staff) replied: Where are you? I’m coming. And there she was.

Here are mom & Nan with Avery in the OR Recovery.

Well, I have more to tell you and more pictures to share, but it will have to wait for tonight. God is good. I wanted to go away on a little vacation to find some rest. Some quiet. And I didn’t get much of either. But God showed up in a big way. I think He really does care about my quiet little life on this culdesac. Because what are the odds? Really?

With Him, they are completely in my favor.

I’ll just close this post with the lyrics to a song that was sung in our Florida home church last Sunday morning. A couple people were giving short testimonies of how God was doing something in their lives that past week. And the music guy, in music guy style, broke out into song. And the tears flowed down, in all my internal struggle to really know that I matter enough to Him to be known by Him…and now, as I look in retrospect at the lyrics to this little chorus, I can’t think of anything aside from the fact that He does in fact know and care about little ole’ me.

I have a maker
He formed my heart
Before even time began
My life was in his hands

He knows my name
He knows my every thought
He sees each tear that falls
and He hears me when I call

I have a father
He calls me his own
He never leaves me
No matter where I go

He knows my name
He knows my every thought
He sees each tear the falls
and He hears me when I call

~ by hthr on April 12, 2008.

2 Responses to “Vacation: then came the day”

  1. Tommy Walker song…it has wrecked me many times! I loved your story. Thanks for sharing. Amazing strength to make it through all of this. Your photos are awesome…any secrets that you can share to taking good ones? Take care. 🙂

  2. Hi, Heather,
    Thanks for the visit to my blog. David’s stil my little boy. I love him so much.
    I talked to your mom on Sunday and she said that you had been here and that Avery had broken her arm. Poor baby. Your girls are so beautiful!

Leave a Reply

