Special Request

I’m not prone to linking out or asking you to pray specifically, but, well, I find this of special importance. I’ve mentioned a few times in my blog a girl by the name of Stephanie Vasofsky. I don’t know her. I don’t actually even know anyone who knows her. But I overheard a friend one night at bunko last spring mention a blog post she had read on another friends blog about a girl (Stephanie) … and so the search began to find out who she was and what her story entailed.  

I have read it nearly daily since I found it and I just feel like she and her family could really use some special prayers. She is 28. A wife and a mother of a sweet 2-year old named Zoe. A daughter, a sister, a friend, and from what I gather, she was also a teacher. She is every one of us, and I think that is why I am so captivated by her story. She has cervical cancer and is under Hospice care at home. From what I gather, she is in great need of physical comfort as she is in pain and is very uncomfortable in bed. You can click the link at right in my blogroll to see her Caring Bridge site for the latest update from her family. 

Girls, it’s almost a new year…don’t forget to go to your ‘girly doctor’ and get a checkup.

~ by hthr on December 26, 2007.

6 Responses to “Special Request”

  1. I am a friend of Stephanie Vasofsky. Wow! I don’t even know how I found your blog, but I continue to be amazed at the number of lives she has touched. Thank you for spreading the word.

  2. I taught with Stephanie. Yes, she is a teacher and a fantastic one! But obviously the best teaching of her life is being done right now as she faces what is in front of her with such beautiful, profound faith and quiet dignity. She and her family are an inspiration to us all. Please keep them in your prayers.

  3. I just attended Stephanie’s funeral today. I knew her through mutual friends. What an amazing woman. Thank you all for your prayers for her and her wonderful family.

  4. I, too, am a friend of Stephanie’s. I’m Lucky’s best friend and just came across your blog. Thanks you for spreading her story.

  5. I am a also a friend of Stephanie. We went to college together and were sorority sisters. It was so beautiful to see how many people attended her services this weekend. Please continue to pray for the strength of her daughter, husband, family and friends. I am a better person simply for knowing Steph.

  6. Thanks for all your prayers for Stephanie and her family. She was truly a remarkable friend. I am honored to have known her.

Leave a Reply

