Holiday Schmoliday

I’ve kind of gotten used to the fact that political correctness has taken Christmas and called it Holiday. I don’t choose to be offended by the universal appeal of the word Holiday. I still say “Merry Christmas” and I dont generally think twice about it. In my mind, anyone who might be offended by my wishing them a “Merry Christmas” rather than “Happy Holidays” is old enough to know that only 20 short years ago, a holiday was a vacation.

But this has me bothered.

Lowes Holiday catalog 2007 (header of the 2nd page) does not say “Christmas Trees”, although that is what they are selling. It says “Family Trees”. Click here to see for yourself.

I was thinking that maybe the whole holiday theme was limited to Santas and Reindeer and trees and fun general winter themes. I figured for sure they would leave Jesus-related stuff out of it and still call that Christmas, since it is the Christ in Christmas….

But no.

Lowes.com shows an outdoor nativity scene and calls it “Holiday Living … Nativity Set”

HOLIDAY LIVING?

I have officially taken issue with the use of the word holiday. And Lowes.

~ by hthr on November 13, 2007.

One Response to “Holiday Schmoliday”

  1. I just got an e-mail that said the Lowe’s had apologized. I guess the AFA got after them.

Leave a Reply

