Taylor, there’s something you should know.

Mommy hasn’t always been this smart.

It’s true. And today, I was thinking about when I was a kid, and if I could go back to school knowing what I know now, I think it would have gone a little differently.

This morning at breakfast, you paused as you were eating your cereal and looked at me. “Mommy, I was wondering if you would pick out my husband for me.” I was giddy inside. “Taylor, I would love to. Daddy will want to help.”

There are a few other things I wish I could do for you, but I can only teach you to do or encourage you to think about. So, on the eve of the first full day of Kindergarten, let’s talk shop starting with you being 20 years ahead of yourself.

With the exception of your brilliant idea at breakfast and why it’s important to save your nickels, dimes and ten dollar bills, you can’t always be looking so far ahead. If you’re always looking ahead, you’re missing the now. And the now is where everyone around you wants you to be. Wherever you are, be all there. I stole that from Pastor Jamie. Trust me kiddo, before you know it, tomorrow will be here.

Don’t worry about what the other kids think. Do your best and do it with all your heart. Your best is something you can always be proud of no matter the result. Just give it all you got. Get into the music. Stay lost in the dance.

Don’t worry much about your clothes or how high your ponytail is or isn’t set. Its whats on the inside that counts most. People might remember your outfit at the end of the day, but they may well remember your sweet spirit at the end of the year, or even their lifetime.

The way you treat people says a lot about whats in your heart. If you have a happy heart, you’ll be blessed with great friends and fun times.

If you write stuff down, you’ll remember it longer. I know you’re still learning your alphabet and all, but….well, i’m just sayin’…

Sometimes, life isn’t fair. That’s it. It isn’t always fair. But you can always come home and cuddle up on the couch with me while we attempt to make sense of it. Or just sit quietly and know it’s all gonna be okay.

When another kid says something that’s not nice, don’t feel bad for yourself, feel bad for them. Once upon a time, someone was mean and said the same thing to that child, and it made them so sad that they remembered it long enough to repeat it. Don’t let it stick.

Your eyes can be used for good or bad. Be careful with that beautiful pair. They say a lot.

You won’t win every time, but you wont lose every time either. Whatever the outcome, whatever the day, I’ll always be your best cheerleader. Quite likely the tallest and oldest cheerleader, but I will always be there in person, in thought or in prayer.

Your daddy & I have a job in life, to teach you to prepare for the unpredictable, to make wise decisions, to tend to other peoples needs, and to burden your heart with a desire to do all things to bring praise to Jesus.

This is a bit of a daunting task. We aren’t perfect people and we don’t always do things right the first or sometimes even the fortieth time. Although we have many years ahead to instill these things in your heart and mind, I know they will be gone just *like that* because I know how fast these first six years with you have gone. So, if you’ll start living in today, I promise I will too. And the rest will just come to us.

Don’t worry Taylor, we will choose a wonderful husband for you. But hopefully, you will find and fall in love with him first.

Love, Mom
070810t2

~ by hthr on August 19, 2007.

One Response to “Taylor, there’s something you should know.”

  1. Just beautiful!

Leave a Reply

