I admit it. I’m a Kitchen Voyeur.

My favorite part of MTV Cribs is when they get to the kitchen and we get to see what’s in the refrigerator. It’s fascinating to me to see how & what people eat. So when I have the opportunity to pop open the door of a friend’s fridge, I get excited. To me, looking in someone’s fridge is like looking into some little part of their lives.

There was a time in our marriage that Brian & I did not face the grocery store for 6 weeks at a stretch. We either ate out at a restaurant or were fortunate to eat my mom & dad’s cookin. That’s when Brian learned to grill. But oh how the times have changed! We’re pretty plain eaters around here (at least, I think we are) and we’ve finally come around to the point that we just prefer to stay in for dinner. And breakfast when we eat it. Oh mercy, lunch too I guess … Brian makes the best reuben sandwich this side of the Mississippi.

Our usual staples if you sneaked a peek are yogurt, milk, coffee creamer, about 7-10 types of cheese, veggies, lettuce and the usual sauces & condiments. Leftovers usually are lingering somewhere if they haven’t been used in making a mystery wrap for lunch the next day. We don’t buy much convenience food since Brian made me conscious of its cholesterol and sodium levels. (I have found them a fabulous way to blow the grocery budget too!). If only I had a green thumb to grow veggies like my friend Nikki in Florida…

Here’s my fridge. I’m curious…what’s in yours?
refrigerator contents

~ by hthr on August 1, 2007.

3 Responses to “I admit it. I’m a Kitchen Voyeur.”

  1. Mercy that’s a lot of eggs!

  2. Ok..be honest. Did you clean the fridge before you took this picture? Ours is a mess! I would be embarrassed if you opened it. Let me clarify, when I say mess – It’s clean but not organized.

    But having seen this picture, it does seem fun to look at other people’s fridges.

    Also, Reuben’s are my staple if I am at a new restaurant and cannot decide what to order. I’d like to try Brian’s sometime.

  3. Ben, it’s much more fun to cook when the fridge is organized. It’s the same as getting dressed in/from an organized closet (which, ours is not! yet.) It just feels better going forward.

    I tend to containerize everything. Little snacks are in one basket, extra sauces etc in another, and usually, the ingredients for the next meal are in one so I can pull them out all at once. I try to keep it cleaned out so food doesnt get forgotten and go to waste. I hate that.

    We gotta get Brian cookin again and you can come have lunch with him here sometime.

Leave a Reply

