A Million Tiny Pieces

allgier
In CNN online news this evening, I caught the headline that a prison inmate killed a guard and I felt inclined to read about it. Then I saw this picture of the shooter, and I couldn’t take my eyes off of him.

All I could think of was his mother.

I wonder what this boy looked like before all the tattoos on his face. I wonder what happened to him growing up that hurt him so deeply, and what dreams he had and why he didn’t chase them. And then I thought more about his mother, and how if that were my child, defacing his own face, I suspect my heart would break into a million tiny pieces.

~ by hthr on June 25, 2007.

One Response to “A Million Tiny Pieces”

  1. Yep, someone failed that boy at some time. So sad…

Leave a Reply

