Sarah Jessica Parker got bit by something

Last week on Oprah, Sarah Jessica Parker revealed her new line of clothing called ‘Bitten‘, available exclusively at Steve & Barry’s. I will first off admit she full on had my attention with this well crafted statement, “It’s about fashion not being a luxury and quality not being a priviledge”. The premise of the clothing line is that it is for women sized 2-22 and nothing costs more than $20. Being a bargain shopper at heart, I sat up and paid attention. But I got a little cynical before too long.

Sarah Jessica Parker stated that she “wears these clothes everyday!” and Oprah got the best chuckle of the segment out of that. I sat on my couch laughing out loud going, “Yeah, right!” SJP is well photographed and is known for having a unique sense of style. She wears vintage clothing, but also favors designers such as Chanel and Oscar de la Renta. Do you mean to tell me she is going to be walking around town in a $40 outfit and a $500 pair of Manolo Blahniks everyday? I can’t see this happening. I just can’t!

She kept mentioning that this was quality clothing. When one of the models comes out, SJP tells Oprah, “You can’t believe this coat. We gotta touch this coat. Because it’s heavy. I mean, it actually will keep you warm!” Oprah chimes in, “Wow. Wow.” She reminded me of a schoolgirl giving a book report for a book she never read.

At one point in the show, Oprah asks SJP how she can make coats & sweaters for under $20. Her reply? “You know what, the world doesn’t actually work the way we think it works. You can do these things. You just have to decide that that’s what you want to do. You know, you just have to decide that thats what women need and thats what they should have.” In other words, “I am Sarah Jessica Parker! I can put my name on clothing! Mary Kate & Ashley did it. Beyonce is doing it. Women need me. I need to be their voice and do this for them. And while I become the fashion voice for women around the globe, I can make enough extra Manolo money for my great grandchildren!” That’s what she was really saying. Oprah looked unimpressed. Of course, Oprah really is the voice for all women, right? ok, moving on…

The other thing that has me really wondering about all this is how much she really put her design sense into it. I looked at these outfits and really did not see anything I haven’t already seen at either Target, Walmart, or Charlotte Russe in the same price range. SJP has a cool sense of style. It is different and more often than not, it gets your attention. I just don’t really see her fingerprint on any of this stuff. My impression was that she walked into a designers studio and said about the clothing, “I like it” (i.e. I see financial potential here, and since Carrie Bradshaw is no more, I need financial potential) and picked a name for the line and slapped her name underneath it. I could be really wrong, but that’s my interpretation. She admits she doesn’t draw or sew. So what does she do here other than use her name and collect checks?

~ by hthr on May 23, 2007.

One Response to “Sarah Jessica Parker got bit by something”

  1. All the old stuff I wore as a child is coming back. Kinda scary and makes you feel old, but it looks great most of the time.

Leave a Reply

