Tales from the fitting room

I overheard this conversation between a mother and her 8 or 9 year old son in a fitting room this week. It’s classic!

Mother: “Oh, I just love it on you! It’s so cute! Just so cute!”
Son: “I don’t really like it mom. The other one is better.”
Mother: “Ohhh, but this one is just so cute. I want you to wear it. It’s cute, cute, cute!”
Son: “Mom, I said I don’t want it.”
Mother: “Yeah, but it’s red and it’s cute on you!”
Son: “Mom. I don’t want to look cute, okay!?”
Mother after a moment: “Alright. (sigh) Well then I think you look like you could kick somebody’s ass in it! (pause) and you look really cute.”

I think he got the shirt he wanted.

~ by hthr on May 17, 2007.

2 Responses to “Tales from the fitting room”

  1. I still don’t understand why you passed by Suzanne and didn’t say hi.

    That story is classic!

  2. This sounds exactly like the conversation my mom had with me while we were shopping for my wedding dress. Not able to say no to her, I now have two wedding dresses hanging in my closet: my mother’s dream dress for me, and the dress I bought after she left that I ended up wearing to the wedding.

Leave a Reply

