You Never Let Go

I am cooking dinner and cleaning (yes, simultaneously!) The girls are dancing and singing, and suddenly, I am captured by this song on the stereo (lyrics & clip below). I am scooping mayo and crying and celebrating. I’m so emotional I might bust wide open. And what perfect timing the Lord has (another great reminder!)…my friend Kristi sent me a verse this week – 2 Corinthians 4…It speaks of our “momentary trials”.

2 Corinthians 4:14-18 (The Message)
13-15 We’re not keeping this quiet, not on your life. Just like the psalmist who wrote, “I believed it, so I said it,” we say what we believe. And what we believe is that the One who raised up the Master Jesus will just as certainly raise us up with you, alive. Every detail works to your advantage and to God’s glory: more and more grace, more and more people, more and more praise!
 
16-18 So we’re not giving up. How could we! Even though on the outside it often looks like things are falling apart on us, on the inside, where God is making new life, not a day goes by without his unfolding grace. These hard times are small potatoes compared to the coming good times, the lavish celebration prepared for us. There’s far more here than meets the eye. The things we see now are here today, gone tomorrow. But the things we can’t see now will last forever.

I refuse to be discouraged about our house sale. I choose to reject all feelings of discouragement, anxiety, depression and fear. And this verse throws the cherry on top of my perspective. Or perhaps it is the foundation. Maybe it’s the sandwich of circumstance.

Someday, hopefully in this lifetime, I will blink, and wake up at the feet of Jesus. My struggles, fears and problems of this world, I hope, will have been used to glorify Him. Perhaps then I will see the big picture that He has been painting all along. His love story, the love of a Father for His Son, and for His children, has been woven into my life for me to share. I have to look at it as though these hardships I face, the things that make me feel alone or worried…they are the very things that are shaping my character by pushing me to new levels – spiritually, emotionally, mentally. I continue to rest knowing I am so very far from being alone and truly have no reason to fear. I know what my future holds, because I know Who holds it!

You Never Let Go
(Matt Redman from the album Passion: everything glorious)

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death
Your perfect love is casting out fear
And even when I’m caught in the middle of the storms of this life
I won’t turn back
I know You are near

And I will fear no evil
For my God is with me
And if my God is with me
Whom then shall I fear?
Whom then shall I fear?

Chorus:
Oh no, You never let go
Through the calm and through the storm
Oh no, You never let go
In every high and every low
Oh no, You never let go
Lord, You never let go of me

And I can see a light that is coming for the heart that holds on
A glorious light beyond all compare
And there will be an end to these troubles
But until that day comes
We’ll live to know You here on the earth

~ by hthr on June 9, 2006.

Leave a Reply

