Plug your ears – it’s me

We live out in the country a little bit now – its kind of on the edge, but you know – it takes like 15 or 20 minutes to get to where everything is (I guess its good – it makes me think before I jump in the car & go!). What I love about it is that we get 3 or 4 songs in before we get anywhere and I just love to sing in the car! Granted, I don’t sing well at all, but I just love to sing!

This morning in church we sang a song that was new to me and I felt so strongly that these words should be my prayer –

Give me one pure and holy passion
Give me one magnificent obsession
Give me one glorious ambition for my life
To know and follow hard after You

To know and follow hard after you
To grow as your disciple in your truth
This world is empty, pale, and poor
Compared to knowing you, my Lord
Lead me on and I will run after you

This world offers us nothing but emptiness. What the world promises will fulfill us, many times ends up being a quick fix and often drives us deeper into debt, depression, loneliness, regret or fear. Jamie talked about this in church this morning – describing our lives as a spec on the big picture (Wow! Hows that for parallel thinking?) and how life is so short and its got to count. We become consumed with the things of our day – our jobs, kids, house, school…life…that there is little room left over for … God. I can’t think of a better way to describe my desire to know God more than that of a magnificent obsession. Isn’t it something that we would be invited to pursue Him and that He would want us to share such intimacy with the Father? We are called to live freely – that is without fear. How many times don’t we hesitate to move forward for fear of what others will say or think of us? Why don’t we think more of what will our Father think? If His was the only approval we sought, we’d have a lot fewer hangups, wouldn’t we?

A friend of ours emailed this week and said this.

“I can’t tell you how excited I get when I see people chasing a dream in this world,
not just marking time. God endows his children with purpose as you know, yet too
many play it safe and settle for a seemingly safe yet unfulfilling life. They will never
realize the rewards that come from mustering up their courage and faith and
following the uncertain road. It is a brave thing that you’ve done and it speaks well
of your faith in God, that you trust him to lead and protect you. For the faithful, the
road is unknown, but not uncertain.”

I had to check and see who this was addressed to. Certainly it couldn’t have been for us, spoken so beautifully and of course, causing me to cry! I want to be like this person – could it really BE referring to Brian & I?

We caught a lot of flack for moving out of state again – some of it was said behind our backs (obviously I found out about some of it later) but some people said it to my face and I’m so grateful they did because it gave me the opportunity to look them in the eyes as I replied. I explained to them that if it meant that my husband would only work one job and increase the quality time our girls have with their daddy and for us as a family, I would do it as often as I had to (of course, I think this is the final move!) Brian & I are accountable to the Lord for how we raise our children and most people don’t realize that Brian has been working 2 & often 3 jobs for the past couple years. He is usually exhausted and isn’t at the peak of health. So for him, for our girls, for us as a couple it was an answer to prayer to move and have a single job. Some folks were brazen enough to comment that it must pay a lot more than what he was earning in order for us to move away. I would just think to myself that our world should not revolve around money or the love of it. There is more to life than the almighty paycheck. There is a lot to be said for working in a career that fulfills you inside and out. And I know for sure, that if you could see Brian’s face when he comes through the door every night from work, you would understand that too.

~ by hthr on April 23, 2006.

Leave a Reply

